Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Join APTR
APTR Directory Search

3/15/2015 » 3/17/2015
Teaching Prevention 2015: Connect. Motivate. Educate. Transform.

Featured Members

APTR Awards


Awards Nomination Information & Forms>>

Deadline: January 30, 2015


Each year, APTR honors the most distinguished individuals and programs in the field of prevention and public health education. Through their dedication, the awardees exemplify the goal of advancing education and serving the community. They are honored during the APTR annual meeting TEACHING PREVENTION at the APTR Awards Ceremony and Luncheon.

2014 Award Recipients

Duncan Clark Award

Presented to a senior-level person with a distinguished record of achievement in the areas of teaching, research and/or advocacy in the field of public health and preventive medicine. This award is named after a founding member of the association.

Jas Ahluwalia, MD, MPH, MS
Professor of Medicine

University of Minnesota Medical School
Executive Director, Center for Health Equity
Associate Director, Clinical and Translational Sciences Institute
Director, Research Education, Training and Career Development

F. Marian Bishop Educator of the Year Award

Recognizes teachers who have contributed to the instruction of students or residents in the field of public health and preventive medicine. In reviewing the nominations, APTR membership and accomplishments related to teaching are considered. Accomplishments related to research are also considered.
Bart K. Holland, PhD, MPH
Associate Professor
New Jersey Medical School, Rutgers University
Department of Preventive Medicine and Community Health
Director, Educational Evaluation and Research
Director of M.S. Program in Pharmaceutical Biostatistics  

Outstanding Educational Program Award

Honors innovative programs, department or academic institutions for their involvement in advancing undergraduate or graduate medical education in prevention and public health which furthers students interest in the discipline.
The MD-MPH Program at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Anthony J. Viera, MD, MPH
UNC Gillings School of Global Public Health
Health Care & Prevention MPH
Public Health Leadership Program
Distinguished Associate Professor
Department of
Family Medicine

APTR Rising Star Award

This new award recognizes a student or early-career member who demonstrates a strong commitment to
prevention and public health and shows exceptional promise of leadership and contribution to APTR.

Special Recognition Award

Recognizes an individual, agency, or organization that has provided outstanding service to the Association, its members or to the field of prevention and public health.

1001 Connecticut Avenue, NW Suite 610  |  Washington, DC 20036

About APTR | Membership | Education Fund